Skip to content

Turning PDFs into student portfolios

June 16, 2016
tags:

Our school has one of those amazing multifunction copiers that will scan to email. For the past few years, I’ve gotten in the habit of pulling the staples out of my assessments, and feeding the giant stack to the copier to create a big PDF. This has been great for keeping an archive of student work, but it’s also fairly cumbersome—to find an individual student’s work, I need to search the entire PDF.

I’ve often wished I could automatically split that one large PDF into a set of smaller PDFs, one for each student. And while I’m at it, it would be great if I could share that PDF with the student so that she could also see have an electronic archive of all her assessments.

With Google drive, this should be easy. I can use gClassFolder to build a folder system for my classes that includes one folder for each student that is shared between me and that student.

After some experimenting with Python and the pyPdf library, I’ve gotten pretty close to a solution, so I’m sharing it here with the hopes that you’ll be able to improve it further. I still need to add some code to have this program move the files into individual folders. I’ve also got a bit of code in this program that will email the PDF to each student.

So I’m posting this code on github with the hopes that you might find it useful, and think of ways in which I can further improve it. This code is very rough, and not well commented. It also requires that you install pyPdf, by typing this on the command line:
pip install pyPdf
PDFspliter python project

To run, this program requires a csv file titled “students.csv” that lists the students in the PDF in order, and the page number where the students’ individual PDF begins. The link will take you to a Google doc template that you can download.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

