Skip to content

Announcing the Lockhart reading group

September 14, 2012
tags:

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote about getting Paul Lockahrt’s new book, Measurement, in the mail.

At the time, I suggested trying to form some sort of online reading group to collaboratively work our way thorough the book and discuss the ideas it raises further.

I’m happy to announce that I’ve decided to push forward with trying to get this reading group off the ground. So yesterday, during school meeting, I deliver an announcement about the book. I shared one of the puzzles that Lockhart mentioned in his book talk, and basically tried to adapt his description of adventuring in mathematical reality into something that would entice my school to want to learn more.

One of my big goals is to make this conversation involve more than just the super smart math kids and math teachers. I think Lockhart is trying to write a book to a far wider audience—literally everyone, and he only wants his audience to see that math is beautiful. So that’s how I pitched it, and I’m thrilled that I’ve gotten a number of faculty outside the math department (including our headmaster) to sign up for this project.

Now here’s where you come in. I don’t want to limit this conversation to just people at my school. I know that there are people all over the world who are interested in learning more about the beauty of math—and not just all the math teachers on the math twitterblogosphere (though I would love all of them to participate in this conversation as well and some of them only 1 degree removed from Lockhart himself). If you are interested, I would love for you to join us on this adventure. You don’t need to have completed any particular math course, nor be a particular age. You simply need to be interested in learning more about the beauty of math, and willing to read a few pages of the book a week.

If you are interested, please complete this signup form.

I’m not exactly sure what forum we will use for this project. It partly depends on the level of interest I get, but I’ll try to chronicle much of my experiences with this project here.

Lastly, we also need a better name. If you’ve got one, send it to the comments.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

