Skip to content

my 180 blog

August 21, 2012

I’ve said it before, but my vote for best new teaching blog of 2011 goes to Frank Noschese and his Noschese180 blog. I’m really excited to see that this idea is taking off—I know of at least two more teachers who have tried it: Chemistry Teacher Ellena Bethea, A year in Chemistry, and High School Science teacher Tracie Schroedter, Braves 180.

I also can’t say enough about how I think this might be one of the easiest ways to get into blogging as a teacher. All you do is take a photo and offer a small comment on it every day—heck you could even skip the comment. Just the daily act selecting an image to share will get you to do some pretty powerful reflection on your teaching. Later, as your blog grows, this reflection will become even more substantial, and I think you’ll be amazed by where one photo a day can take you.

Now I present my entry into this growing field of PD-photo blogs,

burk180.posterous.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 5:49 am

    Excellent. I’m not sure I’m ready to commit to a 180 blog, but I’m hoping to start up some kind of PD-photo blog myself this school year.

  2. August 22, 2012 3:02 pm

    I have already had such positive feedback on this! If I start feeling really ambitious, I would like to extend this to my class websites and set up a separate post for each class. Just one more way to keep everyone in the loop.

  3. August 25, 2012 2:35 pm

    You made this so do-able. Thank you John!! I’ll do this. by the way, you are way up there with Frank in my book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

