Skip to content

Problem Database Progress Update 1

May 21, 2012

I’m overwhelmed by the incredible response to my last post about designing a problem database. Already, I’ve gotten dozens of use cases, which I’ve now used to populate a Google moderator series:

Please go here and vote on what you think are the most important features. Feel free to add a feature if you see something we’re missing.

Physics Problem Database Features

In addition, we’ve gotten an incredible response from people who are interested in helping with this project—14 responses so far. Of course, we’d still love more people to join our efforts, so please feel free to add your information in the form below:

Physics Problem Database Interest Form.

Finally, we’re going to have our second discussion about the database after the Global Physics Department meeting this Wednesday. This Wendesday’s meeting starts at 9:30pm EST and will feature Gas Station Without Pumps, discussing homeschooling, bioinformatics and lots of other cool stuff.  The problem database discussion will begin at 10:30pm EST. I hope you can make it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 10:41 pm

    John, I thought I was on his week and Luberoff was next week. Has there been a change to the calendar? I’m fine with that, but let me know.

    • May 21, 2012 10:44 pm

      Kevin,
      My bad, I totally misread the calendar. You are right. I made the fix.

  2. jsb16 permalink
    May 22, 2012 7:26 pm

    Some of the features seem duplicated. For example, what’s the difference between “Find problems based on a tag associated with them. Things like the type of unit, or a learning outcome.”, “search problems that are categorized by topic/standard” and “tag and sort problems by model (for teachers) and required mathematics (for teachers and students).”?

    • May 22, 2012 7:29 pm

      You’re right. I just straight copied the entires to the google doc. But I guess this lets us infer that tagging is a popular feature.🙂

Leave a Reply

