Skip to content

My SACS AAPT presentation on the Global Physics Department

April 20, 2012

This Saturday at 9:15am, I’ll be giving a presentation on the Global Physics Department at the Spring meeting of the Southern Atlantic Coast Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers hosted by the University of Georgia in Athens.

Here’s the abstract:

The Global Physics Department (GPD) is a weekly online gathering of college and high school physics teachers that has become a very convenient and powerful form of profes- sional development for physics teachers across the globe. Past meetings have included presentations from prominent scientists, textbook authors and many experts in Physics Education Research. This presentation will outlinethe founding of the GPD, some high- lights from past meetings, and discuss current and future plans, including its latest online coaching initiative, where physics teachers are able to submit teaching videos to the group for substantial feedback from a large and diverse collection of physics teachers.

Here are the slides from the presentation:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2012 2:44 pm

    John, the Global Physics Department has obviously been a source of huge value to you, and I am jealous! The principle behind ‘ubiquitous and global professional development’ is indeed a powerful idea, and one that I wish I could harness, but for me there is one problem. Whilst I DO grasp the technology side (and indeed engage extensively in those things), I cannot find many people in the Twitter or Blog ‘osphere, that share my traditional views about lecturing, testing, homework etc. As a result, nearly all of the conversations that I have (and that I encounter) in the ‘virtual faculty lounge’, are ones where philosophically I disagree. I find that the use of technology is being used as a Trojan horse of sorts, attempting to bring with it a bunch of reformist ideas that I don’t agree with – whilst conversely, I DO agree with the expanded use of technology. I feel strongly that the two CAN be separated, but it seems that people with more traditional positions generally do not engage in these virtual forums.

    Of course, valuable professional development isn’t all about ‘agreement’, but it is frustrating to find hardly anyone out there online that shares many of my positions (when I know they exist in the real world since I encounter them daily). There ARE teachers with my opinions out there, they’re just not very active online – I suppose I’m odd; a traditionalist who is up to speed with technology.

    • johnmaiken permalink
      April 30, 2012 9:22 am

      You should give a talk at the Global Physics Department on how your methods are effective in your classroom!

Leave a Reply

