Skip to content

Newton as a teen

January 7, 2012
tags:

Earlier today, I saw this tweet by Dale Basler:

The linked article is terrific. It’s a series of young Issac Newton’s confessions of his 48 sins, including the following gems:

  • Denying a crossbow to my mother and grandmother though I knew of it
  • Robbing my mothers box of plums and sugar
  • Punching my sister
  • Making a mousetrap on thy day

These confessions paint a side of Newton that I hadn’t really seen before. They certainly show the very pious Newton, but they also show a pretty bratty, curious and precocious Newton. Best of all, they really humanize Newton in a way that I think many of my students could relate to. I certainly see a few who share Newton’s penchant for mischief and tinkering.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

