Skip to content

Taking my PLN to the next level—virtual coaching

October 6, 2011

After writing my last post on Atul Gawande’s latest piece on coaching, Grant Wiggins wrote to tell me about some virtual coaching sessions he’s held with faculty around the country where the teacher uses an iPad or iPhone to provide Grant with a live video feed of the class via Skype. Grant then takes notes on the class and discusses them with a teacher during a later Skype session.

Right then a flash of insight hit my brain. There are so many teachers out there whose classrooms I’d love to visit, but will never be able to for all sorts of scheduling and budgeting reasons. So what if I take Grant’s idea and we do a sort of coaching exchange? We could create a sort of virtual coaching circle, and all it takes is a Skype connection. I’m not sure where to take this, but I think this could be pretty transformative to my teaching, and hopefully that of many others as well.

If you’re interested in this, I’d be happy to put together a google doc to try to coordinate visits. Grant was also kind enough to share the pre-visit form he uses for these sessions as well as possible follow up questions.

What do you think? Are you interested giving this idea a go?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    October 7, 2011 12:32 am

    I think it is a great idea. I like the idea of combining this with a research lesson focus. So that the idea of studying the students learning is the main thrust.

  2. October 7, 2011 7:50 am

    I’m in!

  3. October 7, 2011 8:33 am

    I’m interested, and frightened. That almost surely means it’s a good idea.

  4. Michael Lomuscio permalink
    October 8, 2011 9:48 am

    Sounds like a great idea. I would be up for that.

  5. CArtacho permalink
    October 9, 2011 7:01 am

    Excited and scared at the same time, as it should be with new adventures. Let’s do it!

  6. October 9, 2011 7:09 pm

    So, just have Skype running during class? Whoah…cool. I think my kids would go nuts.

    • October 10, 2011 10:07 pm

      Yep—that’s the idea. Give me a week, and I’m going to put together something on google docs to try this out.

Trackbacks

  1. A visit from Eugenia Etkina | Quantum Progress

Leave a Reply

