Skip to content

Self-reflection and goals for 2011-12

September 1, 2011
tags:

Last year, even thought I was blogging anonymously, I posted my self-reflection and goals from 2012 on scribd. Of course, at the time, I had all of 5 readers of this blog, so probably not that many people read this. So here they are again.

View this document on Scribd

I think I can safely say I completed my primary goal for last year:

My primary goal for 2010-11 is to develop my personal teaching blog as a place to document what I’m doing in the classroom, raise questions about my teaching, and collaborate with teachers around the globe. I’ve already written ~40 posts, and found the blog to be an incredible resource for helping me to explore ideas for lessons and reflect upon my teaching.

And I think the payoff has been far greater what I imagined back when I wrote these words in September 2010.

So here’s my new self-reflection and goals document for 2011. This time, it’s longer than the previous year’s version that was already too long in the first place. I also find this process a bit curious. For someone who is reflecting almost every day through blogging and interacting with dozens of teachers on a weekly basis, a yearly goal doesn’t seem like the best way to make push myself to make progress—it’s simply too long of a time horizon any goal I set a year away is likely to seem dull and dated one year later.

At the same time, I do find it incredibly valuable to sit down once a year and try to think about all the things I’m doing and how they connect together. Certainly, even I’ve been puzzled by how I can simultaneously be captivated by developing a computational modeling curriculum, edu180atl and the Mindset Project. But I think the common thread that connects all of these is wanting to develop and install a love of learning in my students that truly empowers them to change the world, and compels them to get started sooner rather than later.

In case you’re curious, here is my self reflection and goals document for the 2011-12.

View this document on Scribd
2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 10:29 pm

    Hi John, I really enjoyed reading this. Your answers are interesting (I’m glad I’m not the only one with over 100 feeds in my reader) and your format is even more interesting. I’m keeping a copy of the questions for assessing myself… and I expect to be sitting on a hiring panel in the next year, so maybe they’ll make interesting interview questions too.

  2. September 3, 2011 11:38 am

    I have over 150 feeds, not counting the 686 comment feeds (I hate the blogger blogs that have a separate comment feed for each post!). I will have to start trimming the list, though, as I can’t keep up with them all. (Don’t worry, John and Mylène, your blogs are ones I’m keeping.)

Leave a Reply

