Skip to content

edu180atl’s sister project: 184 days of learning

September 1, 2011

The edu180atl project is one month old today, and I’ve got to say it’s been pretty awesome ride so far. In terms of both the quality of writing and the level of traffic, edu180atl has exceeded our expectations. We’re now 8 writers away from being fully booked for 2011, something I would never have imagined. Last week, I also took my turn as editor of the site, and found the process of editing, posting and publicizing 5 reflections to be super simple, taking no more than an hour of time total. So it seems like we’ve developed a well-oiled machine that is doing exactly what we intended of sharing stories of learning around Atlanta, and hopefully, with time, this will work to change the conversation about education.

But there’s even better news that edu180atl is beginning to have influence beyond Atlanta. A group of educators in the Parkland School district, outside Edmondton, Canada, have started their own version of the project, called 184 Days of Learning. Since I don’t know anyone in Edmonton, I find it totally awesome that an idea I helped cook up via twitter is having such a wide ranging influence, and it is my hope that this is just the first of many edu180 projects.

Don’t you want to start one up for your school/district/city? I’d love to help you get started.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 10:19 pm

    Hi John, this is exciting news! Congrats on having sparked something fruitful.

  2. August 19, 2015 5:57 pm

    I saw the Parkland ISD 184 days of learning today and am interested in doing something like this in my math classroom this year. I don’t have any experience with blogging or creating websites. I used to think I was fairly tech savvy but today I realized I’m far behind compared to the younger generations. Please help me do something like this in my classroom!

    • August 19, 2015 11:56 pm

      Amanda,
      I’m not sure exactly what you are trying to do, but I think you will find that WordPress is amazingly simple to use. It is the blog platform we used for edu180atl, and we had people working on the project who had never blogged before and they found it to be very easy to use.

Leave a Reply

