Skip to content

Philosophies of teaching from years gone by

August 25, 2011
tags:

Yesterday, Brian Carpenter posted a challenge to teachers to post their educational philosophies. I thought to myself—hmm, I vaugely remember writing one of those, and thanks to the magic of instantaneous hard drive searches, here it is:

View this document on Scribd

I wrote this document after my 3rd year of teaching as part of preparation for the Klingenstein Summer Institute (if you are a private school teacher with less than 5 years of experience, you should absolutely apply to this program).

After re-reading this for the first time in probably 8 years, I’m surprised by how much these words resonate with me still. The thing that surprises me more is how much I think I still need to work on these goals. As a 3rd year teacher, I think I thought I had everything nailed down when I crafted those words, and in retrospect, I realize just how clueless I was when it came to putting these words on paper into action.

I did have a chance to reflect and expand on these ideas a few years later when I had to look for a job, and produced this personal statement, which I also still resonate strongly with.

View this document on Scribd

So I think I’m about due to try to write another one of these. I’ll add it to my 50+ blog post drafts. If I could sum it up, however, it would be something along the lines to turning engagement and empowerment from a series of intermittent flashes to a sustained endeavor to help kids to take control of their lives and make them amazing. (I stole that last line from the awesome @lostinrecursion).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

