Skip to content

CVPM Packet—now with QR codes!

August 14, 2011

I have embedded my complete CVPM (constant velocity particle model) packet below. 99% of the credit for this goes to Kelly O’Shea, and her ingenious revision and paring down of the original modeling materials.

I’ve added a few things to Kelly’s orignial, including the section on computational modeling, challenge assignments at the end of the unit, and ideas for possible capstones, which I’ve written about previously.

One other new innovation I’ve added are links and QR Codes, which seem to be the latest rage sweeping the edtech crowd. In this case, I think they might be useful, as I’ve embedded answers and hints behind a QR code, and in other parts, links to videos. If all my students had mobile devices, I think this could allow for some interesting multimedia based questions. My one suggestion when using QR codes is to keep in mind that not all students have phones with QR code readers, so be sure to also include bit.ly shortened links next to the codes.

View this document on Scribd
7 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt Greenwolfe permalink
    August 15, 2011 2:15 pm

    Nice! I especially like some of the challenge problems at the end. I’ll be borrowing some of those. I’m also transferring Kelly’s packets to digital form, but doing it with excel as my format. The graphing app is embedded on the lab pages, and everything else – whiteboard problems, worksheet problems, the text “model summary board” etc – is a live button to an upload dialogue that allows them to upload a whiteboard picture or video straight from the flip cam to their own hard drive, also placing a link in excel. It’s small (500kB or so) and should allow them to document everything we do while taking just a few minutes of class time. At least that’s the plan. We’ll see.

    • August 18, 2011 7:11 am

      I love the live button to bring in photos from flip cams. I need to remember to have my students document stuff more. I’m going to remind them of this today.

  2. August 16, 2011 11:32 am

    I mentioned your work in my latest blog post & thought you might like to see it [http://wilkesinstructionalmedia.blogspot.com/2011/08/big-ideas.html}. Thanks for sharing so openly.

  3. Chija permalink
    July 23, 2013 4:14 am

    This is awesome!! You have some fantastic ideas John! I’m using this next year. Thanks! You wouldn’t happen to have done this for the other units too, would you? 🙂

    • July 23, 2013 8:54 am

      Let me check. I think I did this a couple of years ago for the first 3 or 4 packets. But I don’t think students ever used the QR codes, so I’m giving the idea up. I am revising all of our packets and will be publishing those soon.

      • July 23, 2013 11:10 am

        No worries John. I was thinking about this, and I can see my students not making use out of the codes too. We use moodle at our school, so I can easily put links and other things up there for the kids to access. I’m excited to see the new packets you’ve created. Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

