Skip to content

Dan Meyer in the ATL—the highlight of my summer

July 31, 2011

Update, this post has been corrected to report the true measure of Dan’s stratospheric dimensions, thanks to Dan himself pointing this out to me.

So I am proud to consider myself a big Dan Meyer groupie, and I’ve been following him since the early days. I started following him when he was dropping tennis balls against felt wall backdrops, and even camped out digitally to score tickets for TEDxNYED 2010, where I got to rock out to seeing Dan bring the house down with this presentation.

Even though I was there, and I saw my 6-7 hero live and in person, I was too scared by the TEDness of the whole thing to really speak to him, or just about anyone else for that matter. I didn’t have a blog, or a twitter account, and who would care what I would say. Thankfully, I have a chance to redeem myself, and here’s how it went down.

Back in the fall, I discovered (through twitter, oddly enough) that our rival school was hosting a 2-day professional development workshop with Dan this summer in August. Instantly jealous, I tried to finagle a way for me to get in to the session, but not unexpectedly, it was totally booked. However, the organizer and 21st century education guru, Laura Diesley (@deacs84) suggested my school try to host our own workshop on the two days following theirs.

I thought this was a great idea, and set about trying to do everything I could to convince my administration to do it. It wasn’t that hard. Dan’s workshop, is easily the among the very best professional development workshops one could bring to a school. So by the time I threatened to hold a car wash to help pay for bringing Dan to campus, the administration had decided to fund it. And just like that me and 19 of my colleagues are now getting to participate in the Dan Meyer show for 2 days. My advice to you is, if you have ever wanted to meet the legend in person, dare to dream and pitch the idea to your administration—the value to cost ratio of Dan’s professional development sessions are so out of this world that an administrator would be foolish to turn down this opportunity. If you need some evidence to convince your administration that Dan’s professional development is spectacular, Lisa Henry just wrote up an incredible description of a recent workshop.

You can see Dan Meyer next week too

Here’s the even better news: Dan’s also agreed to hold an completely free and open to the public keynote this Wednesday at 7:30 pm at the Lovett School. You don’t want to miss this.

View this document on Scribd

Also, I know this flyer says Dan’s session is all about math, and while I’m sure you might see a number or two in his presentationn, this really is a presentation about how we tell stories—real stories, with perplexing questions that eat at our students curiosity and compel them to want to go out and discover the answer. So no matter what you teach—English, history, or foreign languages, this is a can’t miss presentation.

And if you live too far away to attend this session, you can count on me live-tweeting and blogging this. But seriously, can you really be too far away to see Dan Meyer? If you got in your car now grabbed a math teaching buddy, and drove at an average of 50 miles an hour, you could make it here from Kotzebue Sound, Alaksa, and arrive with 10 hours to spare.

And I’d love to try to get together with anyone who is able to make it to the session. Just leave me a comment below and we can try to organize something before/after.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynnae permalink
    July 31, 2011 1:00 pm

    John,

    I’m planning to go see Dan. Leaving Lovett this fall and heading to AGS, two host schools, I feel a particular kinship to the event, beyond my enthusiasm to see Dan. I won’t be able to attend either two-day professional development workshops (bummer), so would really like to find a way to do something after the keynote on Wed.

    Thinking of anything in particular? A social event somewhere? Groupie adulation in the halls? I can help plan.

    And thank you for saying something about being intimidated back in the day by the TEDness of it all. I’m just a few steps beyond, and it was encouraging.

    • July 31, 2011 10:34 pm

      Lynnae,
      Great! I’m thinking two things—one, I’d love for a bunch of us to go out for a beer, and maybe Dan will tag along.🙂 Second, I’d like to form some sort of network of teachers who attend the talk so that we can continue to conversation about Dan’s ideas and share our own efforts at put his ideas into action. I’m still working on trying to recruit as many people as possible to go to the keynote, so I’ll be in touch in a day or so with more details.

      • August 1, 2011 5:36 pm

        Lynnae,
        Dan agreed to join us for a beer afterward, so we should start making plans. Ideas for where to go?

        • August 1, 2011 9:25 pm

          Well, that’s just a good thing, John. Up the hill from Lovett is Garrison’s. It’s a regular Lovett hangout, and they have a nice bar selection. It’s close and easy to get to as well, for those not familiar with the area. On Wed, the kitchen is open until 11PM, and the bar until midnight. I’ve called them to see if they could handle a few of us, informally and no reservations, and they can. What do you think?

        • August 1, 2011 9:31 pm

          Well, then, It’s official. Everyone is invited to join me, Lynnae and Dan Meyer after the talk at Garrison’s Broiler and Tap, following Dan’s talk this wednesday night. Here’s a map.

  2. August 2, 2011 12:46 pm

    No arm twisting needed…I’m in!

Leave a Reply

