Skip to content

More follow up on Angry Birds story

July 30, 2011

I’ve been meaning to share this great follow up from the reporter who did the Angry Birds story, and read my post, Why I’m Angry about Angry Birds:

Hey John,

I wanted to touch base with you after reading – and re-Tweeting – both of your very insightful blog entries about the Angry Birds piece. It’s always interesting for me to get an outside-the-newsroom perspective on (A) the way my job works, and (B) the role of the media and our selection of stories.

I particularly wanted to touch on your most recent blog entry, “Why I’m Angry About Angry Birds”. I enjoyed and appreciate your critique, and I specifically liked your proclamation that “in this severely messed up system, [teachers] are finding a way to fall in love with ideas and learn”. As a reporter, I am always seeking out those types of stories – I consider your “Angry Birds” piece to be one of them – and would love to hear of some more local examples.

Please consider this an open invitation – I would love for you to alert me of great stories, both positive and critical, both simple and complex, within the world of education. Obviously I can’t promise that we’ll do all of them, but I can say that one of the reasons we currently don’t do as many is because we simply don’t hear about them. I am lucky enough to work for a station that prides itself on these types of stories, and I would love to hear your ideas and thoughts.

It was a pleasure to meet you; thanks again — and thanks to your in-laws🙂 — for being available Monday and allowing us to tell your story.

Take care,
–Matt

First, I’m pretty amazed that Matt wrote back, and again, score one for how social media is changing journalism and education. And second, I take Matt’s point that Angry birds is perhaps a bright spot worth sharing about teachers trying to find new ways to engage students. But I stand by my point that I would like to see more media focus on the larger story of education—the learning taking place in our classrooms, and less focus on bright shiny objects like standardized test scores that don’t measure learning, how Khan Academy is revolutionizing education and politicians who haven’t seen the inside of a classroom in years.

I’m definitely going to take Matt up on his offer to share more stories (he may end up regretting this). I asked him if I could share this post here, since I think it really is an example of how many people want to help improve education, but often they don’t know where to begin. So I think there’s a pretty big burden on those of us who are there everyday in the classroom to begin to share stories of what we’re doing and enter the conversation. How will you get into the conversation?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Matt Greenwolfe permalink
    July 31, 2011 11:12 pm

    Invite Matt to spend a day or two at a modeling workshop and write about the way the workshop runs and the participants interactions.

Leave a Reply

