Skip to content

Post 300: Making waves

July 13, 2011

This is blog post 300, and I’ve started a tradition of taking a moment to commemorate this progress. I wrote my 100th post, on the eve of my daughter’s birth, and post 200 just as she was beginning take notice of the world. Now, at 9 months, she’s making waves—meeting the ocean for the very first time.

As Maddie puts her toes in the edge of the ocean, ready to take off crawling almost any day, I can’t help but thinking of making a sappy connection to the journey of this blog as well. The last 100 posts in this blog have been exactly like dipping my fingers in an ocean of possibility. I’ve seen heros I idolized become regular readers and commenters. I’ve played a role starting a number of new professional development programs like the Global Physics Department and Physics Teacher Camp that have opened me up to countless possibilities in my own teaching. And, bit by bit, people seem to be taking notice—a simple post about Angry Birds has been picked up by a half dozen news outlets, and I’m actually now trying to work on a couple of “real” articles to submit to journals to describe some of the projects I’ve been working on here.

While it has been both invigorating and humbling to get such wonderful thanks and feedback on this blog, it’s hard to see the process that led to this with a quick glance, just like it’s hard to see exactly the process that leads to Maddie’s first steps. But when I look closer, I can see it: it’s the almost constant grunting, struggling and squirming Maddie does when you place her on her stomach, and for me, it’s the constant struggle of trying to put my thoughts into words and share them here. Like Kelly O’Shea said—”I wasn’t born ready to do this, but I’ve practiced a lot.”

The world is moving along as well. Dan, even though he is now a full time grad student, hit the cover of Education Week, and has become one of the most in-demand professional development speakers in math, and I can’t wait to meet him in a couple of weeks. Shawn has been picked up for a column in Good magazine, and an awesome TEDx talk and Kelly O’Shea’s stuff is becoming required reading at Modeling Workshops around the country. The fact that these guys are becoming larger voices in the education world gives me great hope for the future of education.

And just today, another physics modeler took her first steps toward creating a blog:

here was my reply:

When will you dip your toes into the ocean?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 1:16 am

    300! You’re a blogging machine. I’m definitely thankful you started.

  2. July 13, 2011 2:23 am

    Congratulations!! What a great post. You are a blogging machine, 200 in 9 months, with a new baby?!? Wow!! This new world of the global physics department is so exciting! I hopefully I’ll have my first blog post up tomorrow. 🙂

    Like Jason, I am thankful you started, keep it up.

Trackbacks

  1. Post 500: In Motion « Quantum Progress

Leave a Reply

