Skip to content

Breaking news: Sean Carroll to visit the Global Physics department on May 25

May 11, 2011

There are 43 posts in my drafts folder that I need to flesh out, but at present, I’m a bit too consumed with end-of year stuff to do any serious blogging. I promise to return to regular blogging in a couple of weeks. In the meantime, I had to share some breaking news.

A year ago, I would have never dreamed that it might be possible for me just to reach out to a world famous physicist and listen to them lecture on a random Wednesday night. Sure, I’ve heard lots of great physicists present lectures at colloquia and other speaking events, and I’ve even worked to bring a few big names to my school (who often charged equally big speaking fees). But simply to have one of those luminaries join our weekly Global Physics Department meetings to chat and answer questions about recent physics discoveries—that’s a whole new level of awesome.

So that’s why I am thrilled to announce that Sean M. Carroll, Caltech Physicist will be joining the Global Physics Department on May 25 to talk about recent discoveries in cosmology and particle physics. Sean is the author of numerous books, including From Eternity to Here, and he writes the excellent blog, Cosmic Variance. This promises to be a true treat.

Because we are concerned that we might get more than 100 participants for this talk, we are asking that if you are interested in participating, you sign up in advance using this simple google form.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    May 12, 2011 8:51 am

    I would love to participate (and have wanted to get involved with the GPD for quite a while), but our district filters block anything that fits even the loosest definition of a “proxy”, including bit.ly. Would you please post the full URL of the google form?

Leave a Reply

