Skip to content

edu180atlbeta complete

May 2, 2011

A while ago, I wrote about a great idea a few colleagues and I had over twitter. Could we change the conversation about education by encouraging people to share stories of what they learned today?

This lead to us starting the edu180atl project, and a beta test for the month of April, where we recruited authors to write 250 word reflections on the question “What did you learn today?” Overall, I’m pretty pleased with the project—if you take a look at the stories, you’ll many great stories of learning, from students, teachers, parents and administrators. Check it out for yourself:

edu180atlbeta

Some highlights:

  • April 1: Whit Whimann: a great kickoff by an 8th grader.
  • April 7: Tara Subramaniam: one of the most insightful things I’ve ever read by a student. How do we see the value in “broken” students?
  • April 18: Kara Koetter: A great reflection on failure that started a lot of my thinking about confusion and failure.
  • April 20: Buffy Hamilton: Buffy wrote this beautiful reflection on the heart just before heading the to the hospital to get her own heart checked out (she’s recovering now).
  • April 25: Anna Harrison: I am simply amazed that a sixth grader could write something so wise about chasing perfection.

As of today, the site was viewed 1600 times, with hits coming from 14 countries, 35 states, garnering 56 comments. Not bad for a a beta. But I’m also wondering how, if and when we take this project full scale by inviting 180 authors to share stories over the 2011-12 school year, we can raise the profile of this project even more, and really have some influence on the education debate taking place in Atlanta and around the nation. I’d love any ideas or thoughts you may have.

One way that comes to mind is to start edu180 projects in cities all across the nation. Are you interested? It takes much less effort than you might think.

Oh, and I did end up writing a post myself. I did this last minute when I realized I’d dropped the ball as an editor and forgotten to remind a writer of his assignment.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 5:35 am

    John:

    It was an excellent project. I would just publicize how you organized it and how it got started and offer some help to those who might want to begin the project in their area. You might have a protocol already written out that you could send them? You might get innudated. Anyway, I think the project is off to a good start. I would suggest that it will be tricky to keep it local, Atlanta educators. In the application to post, you will probably need to screen for Atlanta folks.

    Good job!

    Bob

Leave a Reply

