Skip to content

Video Abstracts

February 20, 2011

Andy Rundquist recently tweeted about video abstracts that are now being published by the Institute of Physics on their blog. Now every author that submits a paper to the IOP for publication in one of its journals must also submit a video abstract. Here’s an example:

This gets me thinking about a number of great ideas for my classroom.

  • Could this be a way for my students to access some of the latest discoveries in physics? What if we had a sort of journal club where students went out, found and watched these videos and then reported back on their findings to the class?
  • Could this be a way to create short, thoughtful lab reports that really get students to synthesize their lab work?
6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 11:53 pm

    I thought a bit about this while I was exploring Voicethread this summer. I may try something similar for our next project.

  2. February 21, 2011 1:05 am

    I think the journal club is a really interesting idea. The few that I’ve watched are all over the place in quality and understandability but a little moderation could help out with that.

    As for the idea to supplement a lab report, I know that’s a great idea. With all the screencasting stuff I’m having my students do I can tell you that hearing them explain their own documents is very useful for assessment. I haven’t done it with lab reports but I think I will now. Awesome idea.

    • February 21, 2011 7:24 pm

      Thanks Andy. You’ve inspired me. I’m definitely rearranging my class so that if you want to explore the stratosphere of grades in my class, you need to do something of lasting import that will demonstrate your understanding to others, or help others to increase their understanding.

  3. February 21, 2011 1:40 am

    I could see doing a hybrid of the short, thoughtful lab report with a presentations format. The students could show their videos, and still gain the experience of articulating their work, but not have to deal so much with stage fright and talking too fast since they would be able to redo as many times as they liked to get to a finished product. After presenting their video, they could still be asked questions (from instructors and audience).

    OR If you really wanted their answering of your follow-up questions to be a learning experience (and not just probing for their current level of understanding), you could ask them to submit a second video presentation that addresses a small handful of the questions that you have, with some sort of restrictive time-limit that forces their answers to be to the point.

    • February 21, 2011 7:25 pm

      Yes, this could be great. I could imagine them putting these videos on some sort of blog, and it being a sort of ongoing conversation taking many forms.

Trackbacks

  1. The Science Learnification Weekly (Feb 27, ’11) « Science Learnification

Leave a Reply

