Skip to content

100 posts to better teaching

October 25, 2010

So this is officially my 100th post. I’ve spent 4 years now reading blogs all around the internet, taking an idea here and there from Dan Meyer, Shawn Cornally and many others. Reading all this has certainly had a positive effect on my teaching, but now, 100 posts in, I can say nothing has improved my teaching more than joining the conversation by starting my own blog, and getting active with twitter. I’ve been to every conference you can think of, on every topic from counseling to college admissions, and nothing has had more of an effect on my teaching than trying to write about my teaching everyday, and listening to the feedback of the wonderful teachers out there who are always willing to share ideas and talk about the craft of teaching.

Just today, I got an awesome tip from Joe Bower about how learning oriented learners see more success than grade oriented learners. I would have never found this on my own.

So if you’re a teacher, and you haven’t started blogging/tweeting yet, I’d urge you to give it some thought. It takes way less time than you think (especially if you don’t proofread, like me), and the payoff is tremendous.

I’ll close with a quote from teacher blogger extraordinare, Dan Meyer:

“I experienced two years of professional growth for every year of teaching when I was blogging.”

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 2:16 am

    Yay! Happy 100!

    I agree. Since joining Twitter and blogging, my learning seems to have accelerated. It’s awesome (and overwhelming at times).

    I’d add Jason Buell as another big influence.

    How awesome it be if all the teachers in our readers/Twitter steams all taught in the same school?

    • October 25, 2010 2:41 am

      Oh absolutely. I remember how awesome it was to discover Jason’s twist on SBG that really influenced my thinking.

      It’d be awesome to be at a school with all of you. But we’d have to find some english/humanities teachers to round the school out. I was just commenting to a friend who teaches english how there don’t seem to be any english/humanities teachers on twitter/blogging. Do you know of any?

  2. October 25, 2010 2:46 am

    Dina of “The Line” is an English teacher:
    http://theline.edublogs.org/

    And Stephen Lazar teaches history:
    http://blog.stephenlazar.com/

  3. October 25, 2010 6:06 am

    huh. I was gonna suggest Frank as a big influence.

    I would have suggested the same two Eng and SS teachers as well. Now I’ve got echo chamber worries rattling around my head at 11 on a Sunday night.

    Also, it turns out there are a ton of English teachers blogging, but for whatever reason they don’t talk as much about pedagogy. There’s a bunch of blogs out there that I read pretty often but I’m not even sure what subject the blogger teachers. I’m pretty sure Bill Ferriter (Tempered Radical) and Larry Ferlazzo are social studies teachers but I can’t remember the last time they actually blogged about social studies.

    Oh and in case you’re wondering, the Science Goddess was my entry point to this world.

    Btw, 100 posts? Congrats. You’re a machine.

    • October 25, 2010 10:50 pm

      Hey Jason,

      I’m a bit of a utility infielder when it comes to teaching. In the past three years, I’ve taught social studies, language arts and science. It’s never the same!

      That might be one of the reasons that I don’t spend as much time focused on any one content area…I’m not ever really focused on any one content area!

      Rock on,
      Bill

  4. October 25, 2010 4:05 pm

    Agreed! As an English teacher, I’ve long known just how important writing is a a tool for learning (not just expression). And writing for an audience pushes you to be that much sharper. And then the ability to converse, share, and respond makes this platform that much more effective. I’ve loved blogging.

    Haven’t tried twitter yet, however.

    And I wonder if blogging might not be a sort of digital Ponzi scheme . . . if everyone did it, who would actually have readership without all of us retreating to the virtual world full-time? I’m already aware that I miss face-to-face conversations with my colleagues when I stay in the room and commune with my keyboard.

    Anyway, congrats on the 100 post milestone! You are, indeed, a machine.

Trackbacks

  1. Post 200: growing like a weed « Quantum Progress
  2. Post 300: Making waves « Quantum Progress
  3. Post 500: In Motion « Quantum Progress

Leave a Reply

