Skip to content

They know where I live!

October 10, 2010
tags:

Inspired by the new WCYDWT science blog, I decided to make this video:

And I challenged the kids to figure out where I live. A few days later, I got a post fingering the mexican food store near my house, and then a few minutes later, my exact address. Flabberghasted, I asked the student how he did it:

I saw the Varsity after a while when you were on the freeway. I then knew which direction you had to be traveling. I was able to count the exits back, see the turns the freeway made you take, and was able to roughly judge the distance traveled from how long you were maintaining a certain speed. When you were going onto the freeway, I saw a gas station(chevron?) and that gave away your exit. I also noticed the white picket fence as a landmark, and used google street view when I thought that I was close in where you lived. Also, google street view gave away your car, but I wasn’t sure which house the driveway was connected to.

Ok, so he didn’t integrate the reading on my speedometer for 15 minutes and figure out my address, but nonetheless, I’m impressed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

