Skip to content

Life lessons from Kevin from the Office

September 8, 2010

So my school happens to have a few famous alumni who are living the life starring in the Office (Ed Helms as Andy Benard and Brian Baumgartner as Kevin Malone) . Today, Brian visited campus, and did a awesome 40 minute Q&A with the student body at the end of the day.

While I didn’t get an autograph, I did manage to fit his life story into Cal Newport’s academic superstar model of Doing Less, Doing Better and Knowing Why. Since this is one of my big themes I want to work on with kids this year, I blogged about it on our class blog.

Learn how to lead an extraordinary life from Kevin from the office.

Part of what I want to do with the innovation incubator (big progress today), is start to record how high school students are able to do these really remarkable things, without throwing themselves on the stress treadmill for 4 years. Now I just need a few more examples….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 1:51 am

    Wow. Two Office stars are alums?

    I’d love to share Kevin’s story with my students, but they are juniors and seniors. How do you tell someone they might have been on a treadmill to nowhere for the past 2 or 3 years?

  2. September 8, 2010 1:55 am

    You know, back when I was in DC (read: center of the AP universe, and ground zero for college stress), I taught seniors, and they actually turned out the be most receptive of all to this message. They used to start to ask for “life talks” every other week or so, and I think this thinking really helped some of the seniors to shape some meaningful senior projects at the end of the year, rather than just lounging by the pool.

Leave a Reply

