Skip to content

Great interview with Cal Newport on Future of Education podcast

December 18, 2012

Cal Newport, author of How to Be a High School Superstar and more recently, So Good They Can’t Ignore You, just did an interview with Steve Hargadon for his Future of Education Podcast, one of my favorite podcasts.

The entire interview is excellent, but this one tidbit near the end of the interview grabbed me. It is one of the best bits of advice for a high school student I’ve heard. Here’s Cal’s elevator speech for current high school students on what his latest book is about.

There’s not one thing that you are hard-wired to do that you have to discover before you’ll be happy. You’re young—if you’re going to college, spend your next years exposing yourself to things, but more importantly, learning how to do hard intellectual things. Keep in mind that to build a life you love, what matters is how good you are at things, not whether or not you’ve found the one sort of true match you’re supposed to do. There’s no one true passion out there waiting for you, you have to go develop passion, and getting good at things is how you’re going to do it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2013 7:10 pm

    I was required to read this most recent post as assigned by my Instructor in EDM 310 as well as comment as I am doing now, but to be honest it’s kind of hard for me to do as I am teary eyed (probably because of pregnancy hormones) and wishing that 15 years ago when I first started college I was given this assignment. I agree with you that this is definitely “one of the best bits of advice”, but for me it’s for anyone at any age, not just high school students. I have a 7 year old daughter and I will be sharing this with her as soon I finish commenting, even if it might be a little over her head- it will be discussed. I’m currently back in school (I do already hold a B.S. in Elem. Ed.) because of several reasons, but one I feel is because of actually thinking that I could find that one true thing that I was “hard-wired to do” in life and I couldn’t. I really just had to find out Cal’s words on my own, both finally and luckily, after all these years and I’m hoping to help children of all ages understand the importance of exposing oneself to many different “hard intellectual things”. Thanks for sharing this post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

