Skip to content

The mathematical adventure begins

September 20, 2012

I just sent out the first email to the participants in the beauty of math reading group. Here it is:

Hi Everyone,
Thank you so much for your interest in being a part of the reading group that will explore the beauty of math by reading Paul Lockhart’s Measurement.

I’m blown away by the response I’ve gotten from my invitations—we now have more than 30 participants! The age range in our group spans the gamut from 14-55+, and at least a few continents. We’ve got students, teachers, parents, and all sorts of mathematical background from those who are pursuing graduate degrees in the subject, to those whose last formal encounter with the subject was decades ago. Our group includes 17 students, teachers and parents from the school I teach at (St. Andrew’s School in Delaware) and an additional 15 participants who come to this group by way of my teaching blog, quantumprogress.wordpress.com.

I have created a blog to house our conversation about math, which will use for the moment to discuss ideas from the book. If it becomes unmanageable, we can switch to a different platform.

I think our first order of business should be to introduce ourselves, so I’ve created a post on the blog for that purpose:

Welcome to the Lockhart Reading Group.

You will need to get get a copy of Paul Lockhart’s book, Measurement (Amazon). The cost of the book is $19.

Our general plan will be to try to read a few pages each week, and discuss the reading and our own efforts at problem solving on the blog.

I’ve posted the first reading assignment (pages 1-7) and reading questions on the blog as well:

Reading assignment 1: Mathematical Reality

If you’ve never used a blog before, you should know that you can respond to comments with either your real identity, or with a pseudonym that you choose. Either is fine for the purposes of our conversation. Since we are likely to have others joining this conversation, the blog is public to the world.

Please know that nothing is set in stone; I am completely open to your ideas and suggestions as to how to improve this learning community. This is my first time organizing such a venture, and I’m looking forward to learning from each of you.

Again, thank you for joining me on this adventure—I’m excited for what lies ahead. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me if you have any questions or concerns.

Best wishes,
John Burk

Math and Physics Teacher
St. Andrew’s School

blog: quantumprogress.wordpress.com
twitter: @occam98

It’s not too late to join. You can join us by completing this google form and posting a comment on the introductory blog post.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mark C. Hale permalink
    September 20, 2012 10:18 am

    John, I’ve not signed up, but I have forwarded your link to the math department and division directors and will be following the discussions with great interest. Fantastic idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

