Skip to content

The hand curated physics blog/twitter news

July 11, 2012

It’s summer, and awesome new blogs are cropping up like like the weeds in my yard. Problem is, my google reader is really bursting at the seams, and I’m finding that even my finely tuned google reader ninja skills are starting to be overwhelmed by the torrent of awesome ideas that are coming my way every day.

And I’ve read enough tweets from friends bemoaning their burgeoning stack of unread posts to know that I’m not alone, either. In trying to think of a solution, I’ve noticed that a lot of people are starting to turn back to the good old email newsletter—internet celebrity Merlin Mann has one, and the best damn edtech reporter in the world, Audrey Watters, just created one as well.

For a fleeting moment, I thought, “well maybe I could create a newsletter to try to sort through my feeds and share the best stuff I’ve found with the world,” but then I remembered that I’m trying to find ways of reducing my workload, not increasing it. Then I realized that we’ve now got an incredibly strong network of physics teachers out there. The Global Physics Department now regularly draws 20 attendees each wednesday, and our newly created mailing list has more than 80 members. So what if we farmed out the task of creating a hand curated weekly newsletter of the latest and greatest findings in the physics blog-o-twitterverse.

Here’s how I could see this working. Interested editors would sign up for a week, and during that week, one editor would be responsible for putting together a newsletter with links and short descriptions of the best things they’ve found that week. The newsletter would then be send out to our Global Physics mailing list, and archived on our website.

I’m pretty sure we could find 20 people willing to do this, which would mean that you’d need to edit only twice a year in order to get a weekly summary of the ever expanding world of ideas from physics blogs and twitter.

What do you think?

If you’re interested in signing up for this gig, I’ve put together this simple signup form.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy "SuperFly" Rundquist permalink
    July 11, 2012 7:35 am

    I think this is a cool idea (and just wait until you see my title suggestions ;-) but I wonder how you would compare and contrast using google reader with letting your tweeps be your filter. I find that I only subscribe to someone’s feed after I hear about their blog from a tweep these days.

  2. July 11, 2012 1:36 pm

    Awesome idea, I wish I had more time, but not now. Taking on Department head next year, 2 AP’s and going to be full time since my daughter was born, YIKES!! Let me get my feet wet with all that and perhaps in the spring. I have no idea how you do all that you do John, I think my brain just runs slower than yours. :) But you are full of amazing and wonderful ideas. Keep them coming.

  3. July 19, 2012 1:06 pm

    Today I came across this, http://what-if.xkcd.com/ , and it reminded me of your newsletter idea.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

