Skip to content

Post 500: In Motion

May 23, 2012

Milestones are funny; once you get past the first few, they have a way passing almost without notice. When I wrote my 100th posts, on the eve of my daughter’s birth, I had no idea what lay ahead either for this blog or my life as a father. And then at post 200 , 300 and 400, I felt myself stretching to make these targets and counting each milestone. Now, at 500, even though this milestone is more momentous, it feels less uncertain. I’m not exactly sure why this is, but part of it must be that this blog, and the growth and connections it’s created are now firmly woven into my life. It’s very similar to how having a 19 month-old walking and signing her way through my house is such a vitally disruptive part of my world that it is hard to remember what life was like before her.

Maybe that’s because it’s coming at the end of a school year, and maybe it’s because Maddie is walking all over the place, I definitely feel that we’re always on the move. Maddie seems to be learning new words every day, and I’m overwhelmed with new ideas and projects that signal the beginning of summer and the preparation for the excitement of a new year. And of course, all of this is only intensified by preparing to return to the school where I began my teaching career.

So what have I learned in the past 100 posts? I think it’s just more of the same lesson—the power of collaboration and cooperation. I’ve seen this power in simple things, like developing a label for the Made by Humans movement, or in collaborative efforts to solve the complex dynamics of a rotating oscillator experiencing multiple resistive forces. Increasingly, these collaborations are growing into extended projects that I hope will have major impact, like the Global Physics Department and the Physics Problem Database.

Let’s keep moving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

